October Staff Picks

Each month we feature a series of books chosen by our fabulous staff. Once a week our literary mavens will be featured on our social media channels. At the end of every month we compile them for you right here; that way you won’t miss a single book! These choices are some of their favorite books and authors or reads they need to share with others. Find the selection from this month below, and if you want to see what our librarians have recommended in the past check out our blog!

 

We’ve got a fun read from Amber at the Beaches for this #JPLPicks. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows is a hilarious take on Lady Jane Grey’s story,” says Amber. “The story is perfect for fans of “The Princess Bride” and “Monty Python.” Don’t expect historical accuracy here, just expect to have a good time reading!”

This #JPLPicks was a shout out for Jax Maker Con! Andre from the Beaches recommends Black Panther: A Nation Under our Feet, Book 2 by Ta-Nehisi Coates. Andre says, “What’s not to love about a book with afro-futurism, political intrigue, superheroes, and wonderful illustrations. Everyone loves cool cats!” We have to agree with Andre, who doesn’t love a cool cat!?

Rachael, of the Beaches Branch, recommends the classic The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien for her#JPLPicks. “Written in beautifully poetic prose, Tolkien describes the origins of the world of Middle Earth and its various inhabitants and their battles against the evil Valar Morgoth and his servant Sauron,” says Rachel. “This is the book to read if you want to know the full history of Middle Earth!” Brave Middle Earth and get your copy today: http://bit.ly/JPLSilmarillion

For Eve at West Library “The combination of gaming, questing and eighties pop culture in Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is amazing, it thrills my little geek heart!” Since she’s read this book several times over it make sense for her to choose it as her #JPLPicks. “It is actually coming out as a movie and I am torn about seeing it. I love the book so much which makes me want to see it and not see it at the same time.” Devour a copy before the movie comes out: http://bit.ly/JPLReadyPlayerOne

We closed out October with a good mystery for our #JPLPicks! Margaret from the Beaches Branch says, “I like a good mystery, and there are none better than those by the master of mysteries – Agatha Christie.” Check out a copy of And Then There Were None today: http://bit.ly/JPLAndThenThereWereNone

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s